Posted by John Thomas
A joint 3-club Rotary meeting in the Winnetka Community House was opened at 6:30 PM by Winnetka/Northfield President Bill Leske. About 70 Rotarians were present with the W/N club as hosts and joined by members of the Glencoe and Wilmette Rotary Clubs. The purpose of this joint dinner was the installation of new Presidents of the three clubs as well as the new 2019/20 W/N Board.
 John Held (Wilmette) gave an interesting Thought for the Day followed by the pledge of allegiance led by Bill Hansen (Glencoe). Dinner was then served at 6:45 PM.  The meeting resumed at 7:05 PM and was led by W/N outgoing President Bill Leske. About 15 non-Rotarian guests were introduced and welcomed.
President Bill then thanked W/N members who had freely given time and energy to serve on the W/N Board and to head various Committees. Included in the latter group were Heidi Sibert, Barb Tubekis, David Birkenstein. Ned Meissner, David Grant, Marie Kuipers, and our Secretary/Treasurer and all-around go-to man, Rich Lalley.
At 7:20 the meeting was then turned over to John Held (Wilmette). He also thanked his club members for making his Presidency year so fulfilling. Special mention was made of their Book Drive that generated thousands of book for disadvantaged kids.
Held then presented a Rotarian of the Year Award to Deborah Morris who had been 2017/18 Wilmette co-President and then undertook some vital and successful Membership and Fund-raising tasks in the past year.
Leske returned to the podium briefly to thank the caterers for the wonderful dinner and then re-introduce Bill Hansen, Glencoe Prexy. Hansen thanked all who had aided in a reinvigoration of the Glencoe Club with special thanks to Barbara Harris.
Leske then introduced our new District Governor, Suzanne Gibson from the Barrington Club. Ms. Harris has earned a variety of Rotary honors including multiple Paul Harris awards and who is an exemplar of the 4-Way creed. She spoke briefly saying she was honored to be our new DG and hoped she will bring “value added” to club affairs in the year to come.
Leske then introduced the Presidents-elect of the three clubs who are Marie Kuipers – W/N, John Held - Wilmette and Bill Hansen - Glencoe. Each pledged to faithfully serve their Club, the District and Rotary International. Then followed an acceptance speech by each new President with Ms. Kuipers noting she saw Rotary as her family. She also said the secret to happiness is low expectations.
Leske returned to receive the plaque and badge noting he is now a “Past President”.   The usual W/N lottery was held with no winner and the meeting was closed.